What to do next!

Your chance to ask for advice on any aspect of career development that doesn't fit in any of the above categories
Blossom

What to do next!

Post by Blossom » Mon Mar 26, 2018 9:39 pm

Hi Everyone,

Apologies if this is long and in the wrong section.

I am after some advice really.

Background

I graduated in 2011 with a low 2:1 from UCL. I could have done much better academically as my A Levels were excellent (4 A*). However, I lost my mother, sister and grandfather within a space of 2 years at uni.
I have applied for the doctorate 3x now and the 1st time I got an interview at RHUL and reserve at UCL (was a support worker). Since then, I have failed to get any interviews. I suspect my application is not strong enough (always got reviewed by CPs and trainees).

I have been an AP for 4 years (Adult LD, CAMHS and lastly Brain Injury).

I left my CAMHS job in 2015 to start an MSc at the IOPPN (I got a Merit). Towards the end of my MSc I got my AP job at a Neuro rehab. Then in September 2016, I found out I was pregnant.

Presently

I was due to return to work this January 2018 after maternity but there was no job waiting for me. Luckily (or unluckily), my mother in law has her own rehabilitation business and I have been working as a care coordinator which I am enjoying but I am unsure how long I can work with her as I don’t believe she can provide a reference for me and whether this is relevant experience.

I managed to get a p/t job at the council working on the fostering and adoption panel. Part of my role will involve whether adoption is the most appropriate plan for a child whose care has been relinquished by their birth parents and the suitability of prospective adoptive applicants to adopt amongst other things. I am just waiting for my CRB to arrive.

Anyways, a CP said to me that this was not relevant experience even though I thought so.