Part-time training

Issues related to pay, contracts, Agenda for Change, the NHS, the BPS, unions, etc.
hawke

Part-time training

Post by hawke » Sat Aug 22, 2020 8:45 pm

I am looking for some advice about working part-time during and after training.

I am a current trainee and have a long-term health condition that can flare up, making working full-time at best tiring, at worst impossible due to symptoms and fatigue. I've coped with the last few months by making pragmatic decisions about research and placements to be as efficient as possible with the workload and my energy. I have used flexible working, annual and study leave wisely to fit around my illness, which up until now has helped minimise any impact on my training. But the workload jump coming into third year means that's no longer enough, and both my health and work pace are suffering. I have let my course know that I would like to request to go part-time and been referred to OccHealth, but I get the impression they are not keen on offering this. My concern is that because I have self-managed it so well up until this point, this will count against me, as I can't demonstrate the impact. I have definitely cut corners but done so in a way that is invisible to others.

Does anyone have any advice about pursuing this request while training? Either for illness, mat leave, caring responsibilities etc. Or any alternatives that I haven't considered? (The course have offered to extend deadlines, but this doesn't help so much with a chronic condition.)

I am also wondering about working part-time as a qualified. Most CPs seem to work part-time, yet most jobs (particularly band 7s) I see are advertised as full-time. I am wondering whether it is better to be upfront when applying (either in the application or interview) that I am seeking part-time hours, or whether it is better to negotiate after receiving a job offer?

Any advice or words of solidarity would be much appreciated!

workingmama
Team Member