Capacity to consent

This section is for questions relating to therapy, assessment, formulation and other aspects of working with people in mental health services.

Gutisomama

Capacity to consent

Post by Gutisomama » Wed Dec 07, 2011 1:19 pm

Hi,

I am hoping to obtain some opinions about an Intellectual Disability client case. I am going to meet for the first time with this [age removed] years old pregnant woman who has mild learning disability for an assessment of whether she has the capacity to consent and sign the form stating that she and her baby, when born will be required to live in a foster care home. I guess that my role will be evaluating whether she has the capacity to consent. I have never done this assessment before. The social worker, the referral agent, wants to know my clinical opinion whether she is able to understand the consequences of whatever decision she makes. I know there is a functional assessment that can used but I don't much about that? I am not sure what approach to use. is there a structured form available to use during the session with her?
I would also like to have some opinions on the report format and any book where I can find a model of writing this kind of report? Also, is it not the role of the psychiatrist to make this assessment?

Gutisomama

maven
Site Admin

Re: Capacity to consent

Post by maven » Wed Dec 07, 2011 1:48 pm

It seems to me like the task is beyond your current competence, but it is something plenty of CPs are competent at and do fairly regularly. If you are a qualified CP, surely you have a supervision and support structure that would help to define your role and identify any training needs if you are being asked to do things outside your competence?