Dress code when working clinically: Appropriate "masculine" clothing?

This section is for questions relating to therapy, assessment, formulation and other aspects of working with people in mental health services.

Roz93

Dress code when working clinically: Appropriate "masculine" clothing?

Post by Roz93 » Mon Jun 25, 2018 12:16 pm

Hi all,

Just wanted to throw a question out there to all those who adopt a typically "masculine" dress code for clinical work. I'm a first year trainee and up until now I've typically work black/dark blue (non-jean) trousers and a shirt.

I've always been a little unsure of "proper" dress code - there seems to be a lot of variation worn by people identifying as female or wearing what we've come to associate with as "feminine" clothing. And everyone looks appropriate!

I didn't really think too much of my dress code but on my recent placement I've been misbranded as a "junior doctor" by many in the teams I'm involved with. There's nothing wrong with being a junior doctor, of course, but I just wondered if others wear different clothes? Am I being too formal? Is there a typical "masculine" dress code in psychology? I've been considering switching to plaid or a less formal shirt, but I thought I'd throw it out there for discussion.
"Imagine others complexly" - John Green.

Advertisement
Pearson Clinical Assessment publishes a wide range of assessments to support psychology professionals including the Gold Standard Wechsler range. To view our range please visit: pearsonclinical.co.uk/cpf
firegal
Team Member

Re: Dress code when working clinically: Appropriate "masculine" clothing?

Post by firegal » Tue Jun 26, 2018 10:57 am