Trainee section?

The guidance for posting on www.ClinPsy.org.uk and any comments on the forum, suggestions for improvements, etc. Also information about our e-magazine, Aspire, and how to contribute or download your copy.

Do you think we should have a trainee section?

No, I don't want a trainee section (I'm not a trainee)
3%
No, I don't want a trainee section (I am a trainee)
2%
Yes, an open section (I'm not a trainee)
37%
Yes, an open section (I'm a trainee)
24%
Yes, a private section (I'm not a trainee)
5%
Yes, a private section (I'm a trainee)
14%
I don't care or I don't have a strong opinion either way
15%

Total votes: 59

schizometric

Trainee section?

Post by schizometric » Mon Apr 02, 2012 11:25 am

This is something I've thought about for quite some time and I wondered whether it would be good to open it up to discussion, although ultimately the decision is of course down to Miriam. I thought it might be worth considering though. BoCo and I, and a few others have discussed this in chat and have come up with (largely) the following thoughts:

I know there aren't many of us to start with, but I think that a lot of trainees effectively leave the forum after getting on the course, and rarely return unless it's for a paper etc. I think trainees are a valuable resource to the forum, and it might encourage more to stick around after getting accepted; not just prolific characters (who may stick around anyway to a degree) but others too. It may even attract people to the forum who are on courses and didn't know about it (not many of them I suspect) or thought it was mostly for APs etc etc. I don't think the forum has much of a 'trainee voice' which is a shame, since it's a forum for Aspiring clinical psychologists, and we are technically still 'aspiring'!