Therapist Burnout

This section is for discussion relating to the Layard report, and subsequent schemes like Improving Access to Psychological Therapies where lower intensity inteventions are offered in primary care
enchanted

Therapist Burnout

Post by enchanted » Thu Oct 11, 2018 6:45 pm

Hi there,

I am a qualified PWP and I've been working as one for the past two years. I am experiencing severe burn out as a result, all the classic symptoms such as sleep problems, poor concentration, dizziness, irritability, empathy/compassion fatigue. The sheer relentless / conveyor belt nature of IAPT just does not provide any adequate time or space to really recover, and unfortunately with a mortgage to pay, I am really struggling to see what I can do to support myself through this.

I guess I am turning to this forum for some peer support - can anyone recommend anything that I can do to manage this? There seems to be a lack of resources online for therapist burn out. There's lots available for self-care, but what if you have passed that point?

Thanks in advance.

Dedicated PWP x

Advertisement
Pearson Clinical Assessment publishes a wide range of assessments to support psychology professionals including the Gold Standard Wechsler range. To view our range please visit: pearsonclinical.co.uk/cpf
hawke

Re: Therapist Burnout

Post by hawke » Thu Oct 11, 2018 9:05 pm

Oh I feel for you - I'm a recently ex-PWP, it's a tough job.

Firstly, know that you are not alone in feeling burnt out - this study found that two thirds of PWPs experienced burnout. It's nearer to half in other NHS psychology practitioners, if the stats are to be believed.
https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/28084121