Overrated?

Your chance to ask for advice on any aspect of career development that doesn't fit in any of the above categories
J1mmy

Overrated?

Post by J1mmy » Tue Mar 08, 2011 1:02 am

People who know a thing or two about ClinPsy know its one of the most competitive arms of the psychology discipline, and whilst I've been browsing this forum for the past 2-3 years, and currently doing an MSc in ClinPsy I've learnt a lot about the holy grail - the Doctrate course everyone is trying to get on to.

Over the past few months I've begun to realise that people are sacrificing a lot of their time, effort and money in an attempt to get on a course which perhaps doesn't really offer much more in terms of career prospects than most other professional routes. I hear people doing PhD's, 2 masters, 3 or 4 years of experience for this course, and I don't quite understand what they see in this doctorate programme that will justify spending 5+ years of slogging to try and make it. I mean, it's not even this difficult to get onto graduate medicine for example, and that's about life or death.

I think the course has evoled, through the competition, to only accept the best applicants and over the years the bar has risen, but people don't seem to take a step back and realise that they need to really spend more time proving themselves over a number years that doesn't even equate to the number of years one spends in clinical training here.

I'd like to start a discussion about this, and welcome your thoughts.

lingua_franca

Re: Overrated?

Post by lingua_franca » Tue Mar 08, 2011 7:38 am