Hospital work for an undergrad

Your chance to ask for advice on any aspect of career development that doesn't fit in any of the above categories
Hazjr

Hospital work for an undergrad

Post by Hazjr » Sat Jan 21, 2012 10:14 pm

I was wondering whether anyone has any work experience in a hospital, for example, in a mental health ward etc. If so, how do I go about looking/approaching for some experience as such?

Esuma

Re: Hospital work for an undergrad

Post by Esuma » Mon Jan 23, 2012 10:28 pm

I'm currently volunteering in a mental health hospital in my area (I'm a graduate) but they have a lot of undergrads volunteering within the same area. I'd have a look online to find out a little bit more about the mental health hospitals in your area, and see if there's a volunteer manager you can speak to there. Also I'd have a look into your University's charity committee, I think most university's tend to have something along the lines of the 'SCA' (Student Community Action) so have a look and get in contact with them. If you say the kind of thing you're interested in doing they're usually quite good at finding you an opportunity out there. It took me a long time to get into volunteering in the place I'm in now (nearly 2 years I'd say, but that was because of various unfortunate circumstances and not a normal scenario!!). Sometimes the NHS is quite poor at hospital information online, and I managed to get something called 'The Blue Books' for my area, that list all of the names and addresses for mental health hospitals within a certain area which can be very useful. I think you may need to be an NHS employee to get them but just in case the e-mail is nhs@landsdownepublishing.com - they do one for the north, south, London and the midlands.