HCA question

Your chance to ask for advice on any aspect of career development that doesn't fit in any of the above categories
ClaireEmma

HCA question

Post by ClaireEmma » Fri Oct 12, 2012 3:13 pm

Hi everyone,
This is quite a random question and I wasn't sure exactly where to ask it. I am about to start a new job as a HCA for a child & adolescent psychiatric hospital and after receiving my official job offer letter today I realised that I have no idea what to wear. The letter doesn't say anything about uniform and I have never worked in this kind of setting before. I am guessing that it should be quite formal, office type stuff, but having never worked in the NHS I don't know if there's any specific rules - can I wear a wrist watch, can I wear small heels, what about boots when its raining (I cycle), can I wear a skirt if it's knee length etc? Obviously I could ring them but for some reason I feel a bit embarrassed calling them to ask about this :oops:

Any general guidance would be appreciated!

astra

Re: HCA question

Post by astra » Fri Oct 12, 2012 3:22 pm

It's a perfectly reasonable question to ask. I'd just ring them and ask if there's a dress code in the unit or if a uniform is provided/required. It will vary from place to place.
From the point of view of mindfulness, as long as you're breathing there's more right with you than wrong with you. Jon Kabat-Zinn

Borrowed Cone

Post by Borrowed Cone » Fri Oct 12, 2012 3:24 pm

There is a thread about what to wear somewhere on the forum. I'd suggest using the search function to find it!

PS - here is one such thread

The Cone
"We can rebuild him. We have the technology. But I don't want to spend a lot of money..."

Mya

Post by Mya » Fri Oct 12, 2012 4:43 pm

Hi Claire Emma