Dreams of becoming a psychologist

Your chance to ask for advice on any aspect of career development that doesn't fit in any of the above categories
joyisabella88

Dreams of becoming a psychologist

Post by joyisabella88 » Mon Aug 11, 2014 8:34 pm

Hello,

I'm currently 26 years old. Unfortunately I have poor A-levels in Sociology (C), English Literature (C) and German (E) due to having mental health issues at the time of completing them. I have since completed a degree in Creative Writing (2:1) and Level 3 qualifications in Counselling and Abnormal Psychology, which I have completed via distance learning in my spare time.

I have four years of experience volunteering as a Befriender for an eating disorders charity and am soon to begin volunteering for another mental health charity, helping to run peer support groups with a recovery focus.

As I've said, I do have personal experience of mental health issues, including more recent hospital admissions. However throughout that time, my frequent contact with mental health professionals and predominantly with clinical psychologists has ignited a passion for wanting to follow this path for myself. I've always loved reading about psychology and helping people, but never realiised that I would be able to combine the two.

I guess my main questions at the moment are: 1) Would my poor A-levels count against me at this stage if I've since demonstrated my ability? 2) Will my experience of mental health issues be looked down on? Obviously I'm aware that I need to be well to pursue this path, but I feel that my experiences have now enlightened me rather than hindered me in seeing the career I wish to follow. 3) I'm afraid that my employment history is a bit patchy and mostly voluntary due to ill health. Would I still be considered if I now gain as much experience as I can and show how committed I am to a career in psychology?