Health Care Assistant Posts

Your chance to ask for advice on any aspect of career development that doesn't fit in any of the above categories
Purplebear

Health Care Assistant Posts

Post by Purplebear » Tue Apr 14, 2015 9:38 pm

For a bit of context, I'm a fourth year undergraduate and graduating this June. My undergraduate degree is in Psychology and from the University of Cambridge (high 2.I), and my add-on fourth year is in History and Philosophy of Science focusing on history and philosophy of psychiatry and psychology. I'm looking for a job for after graduation. I got rejected straight up for a Clinical Psychology assistantship post recently, but think I perhaps applied too early and had too little experience for the post (have done some nightline work but no work in hospital). I'm now looking at healthcare assistant posts in public and private mental health hospitals. Is this type of job appropriate experience when looking to go into clinical psychology? Am I selling myself short by going for this kind of job as it doesn't ask for a degree in the person specification? Or is it the right kind of job to be aiming for immediately post-degree? The salary's liveable and the work would probably be informative, but I'm wondering what kind of paths other people have gone down! Also, right now I'm really afraid I wouldn't even get a healthcare assistant job! Would be pretty crushing if that happened and make me question why I even did my degree... Thoughts appreciated! :alien:

Holly85

Re: Health Care Assistant Posts

Post by Holly85 » Wed Apr 15, 2015 9:54 am