Let's talk about money

Your chance to ask for advice on any aspect of career development that doesn't fit in any of the above categories
missmoo

Let's talk about money

Post by missmoo » Thu Jun 07, 2018 10:49 am

Hi folks. I'm a mature career changer hoping to train as a CP but there's one major obstacle in the way - money. I'm not used to lavish spending and I've spent the last 5 years working as a support worker, healthcare assistant and project officer while doing an OU degree so I'm not used to big wages either! The problem is this - I'm a single parent and both my Aspie kids are off to college this year (they're over 20 so no tax credits and no student loan for one of them). Supposing I managed to score an AP job to get clinical experience, NHS Band 4 wages just aren't going to cut it any longer (and I couldn't face working two jobs and being a carer).

So I need to do a) an appropriate Masters (I'm not eligible for funding as I have an unrelated MSc already - my fault) and b) gain clinical experience as an AP without going bankrupt. I realise my situation is rather particular BUT since we are all in the same boat regarding expensive postgrad courses and low paid support work or AP posts, how in the hell does anyone not living at home with their folks or a well-paid partner manage it?? :( Has the expense put anyone else of continuing on the CP path? (Guess not or you wouldn't still be on this forum :D) If not, how do you manage?

Advertisement
Pearson Clinical Assessment publishes a wide range of assessments to support psychology professionals including the Gold Standard Wechsler range. To view our range please visit: pearsonclinical.co.uk/cpf
missmoo

Re: Let's talk about money

Post by missmoo » Thu Jun 07, 2018 11:22 am

I should add I'm in Scotland so availability of roles and funding is maybe a bit more limited than the rest of the UK.

NotReally

Post by NotReally » Fri Jun 08, 2018 10:33 am

Hi missmoo