Can I make it?

Discuss applications to the clearing house (and to courses that are not in the clearing house system), screening assessments, interviews, reserve lists, places, etc. here
nemoadam

Can I make it?

Post by nemoadam » Sat Jun 15, 2019 3:47 am

Hey everyone! I am new to this forum and after browsing for a long time, I got a bit anxious regarding the level of experience one must have in order to get into The clinical course.

I am A second year Psychology student currently on track for a first (hopefully, fingers crossed), so far my experiences are:
2 years working as a mental health supoort worker
1 year working as a disability support worker ( and currently work there)
6 month volunteering at a psychiatric ward in somalia
2 weeks volunteering at a psychiatric ward in Egypt

Is this enough??? I feel I have/am not doing enough, I wish to go straight onto the course after i graduate but it is starting to look a bit impossible :(

Thank you in advance :)

Advertisement
Pearson Clinical Assessment publishes a wide range of assessments to support psychology professionals including the Gold Standard Wechsler range. To view our range please visit: pearsonclinical.co.uk/cpf
Randomswirls
Team Member

Re: Can I make it?

Post by Randomswirls » Sat Jun 15, 2019 6:01 am

I didn’t have anywhere near the experience you did when I graduated from undergrad and am now a trainee. I know on the very odd occasion people have got on straight from undergrad but I would say the time before the doctorate when you are gaining experience is invaluable and I would in many ways love to go back and have some more time as an assistant to really hone some basic skills.

You are doing well with the experience so try and get the best academics you can and enjoy the journey!

Geishawife
Team Member

Post by Geishawife » Sat Jun 15, 2019 8:14 am