Advice on someone with no clinical experience!

The place to ask about degree courses, conversion courses, masters, PhD or other qualifications. Discuss specific courses, their pros and cons, the content, the application process, different institutions, how to fund them, etc. Includes advice if you have a 2:2 and questions on transcripts
Mudisco

Advice on someone with no clinical experience!

Post by Mudisco » Wed Nov 06, 2013 8:18 am

Hello,

As the topic states, I have zero clinical experience. I have been applying for support/personal assistant jobs working with people with learning disabilities or special needs. I have a pre-NVQ2 already in working with vulnerable adults, and in health and social care. I plan to start doing the Samaritans next year Jan. Am I on the right track?

Also, for clinical experience, I plan to go to Nigeria for 1-2 years (with holidays to England) to get experience being supervised by Clinical Psychologists and working alongside Psychiatrists. I plan to do that so that when I come back, I can have more chance in getting RA/AP Posts. Would international clinical experience be seen as inferior to UK clinical experience when I apply for the doctorate?

Thanks!
Last edited by Mudisco on Wed Nov 06, 2013 10:54 am, edited 1 time in total.

Geishawife
Team Member

Re: Advice on someone with no clinical experience!

Post by Geishawife » Wed Nov 06, 2013 10:05 am

Could you tell us a little bit more about your qualifications? You mentioned the NVQ, but what other qualifications do you have? Do you have a psychology degree or conversion? That might sound like a silly question, but I have had people ask about doing clinical who do not even realise you need this as an absolute minimum starting point! It is very important you check and double check that the qualifications you have are appropriate for the jobs you apply for.