MSc Route to CP without degree in psychology

The place to ask about degree courses, conversion courses, masters, PhD or other qualifications. Discuss specific courses, their pros and cons, the content, the application process, different institutions, how to fund them, etc. Includes advice if you have a 2:2 and questions on transcripts
gp88

MSc Route to CP without degree in psychology

Post by gp88 » Wed Oct 15, 2014 10:07 pm

Hi,

I have joined the forum with the view of obtaining some advice on a career-change into clinical psychology.

My academic background isn’t exactly tailored for the traditional route into CP - I have a 2:1 degree in international relations, have served some time in the armed forces as an officer and came out earlier this year. I do, however, have an avid interest in psychology and regularly read & research various topics and approaches within this field.

My ‘plan’ is as follows.

1. Apply for a MSc psychology/clinical psychology for Sep 15 entry. I have seen a number of MSc courses that do not require a degree in psychology that fulfils the “BPS conferring the Graduate Basis for Chartered Membership” requirement (Chester Uni, for example).
2. Between now and Sep 15, alongside the MSc course (if possible) and following its completion, I would aim to build a portfolio of relevant practical experience.
3. When the time is right and when I have obtained a credible amount of experience, I would then apply for a CP course.

Please can anyone shed some opinion on whether this ambition is realistic, and/or offer some general advice? :)

blue86

Re: MSc Route to CP without degree in psychology

Post by blue86 » Thu Oct 16, 2014 11:00 am

gp88 wrote:Hi,

I have joined the forum with the view of obtaining some advice on a career-change into clinical psychology.