Choosing modules for clin Psy masters

The place to ask about degree courses, conversion courses, masters, PhD or other qualifications. Discuss specific courses, their pros and cons, the content, the application process, different institutions, how to fund them, etc. Includes advice if you have a 2:2 and questions on transcripts
fifi88

Choosing modules for clin Psy masters

Post by fifi88 » Wed Sep 26, 2018 1:53 am

Hello everyone,

I’m an aspiring Clinical psychologist and unfortunately I attained a low 2:1 (61%) at degree level, I am aware that my grade will make it harder for me to be accepted onto Dclinpsy training but I determined to do whatever it takes to get onto the course. I just got a job as a support worker in a mental health hospital (should be starting next month). I’m considering to do my masters next year (sept 2019) since this will subsequently strengthen my Dclinpsy application (I’m hoping to apply in a couple years time); but I’m currently in a pickle, I’m hoping to do my masters at Goldsmiths (MSc foundations in and coin pay and health services) but I noticed they offer two pathways within the course, both pathways consist of 5 core modules: Understanding and Treating Psychological Disorders, Professional Issues in Clinical Psychology, Statistical Methods, Research Design and Analysis, Research Project.